Some Favorite Sentinels

I’ve always loved lighthouses.  I collect them in the form of miniatures, photos, and even ink stamps as part of the “Passport” program of the United States Lighthouse Society.  Last winter I blogged about “Cleveland’s Frozen Lighthouse”  and what it looked like during that unusual week when seemingly every photographer in Northeast Ohio ventured down to photograph it in it’s once in a lifetime coating of ice!

Cleveland Harbor West Breakwall Lighthouse covered in ice

I didn’t post this photo at the time, it was being seen everywhere, even in the national media, but instead showed how it might look at night.  I noticed however that the lighthouse seemed to tilt.  I wasn’t sure if that was the lighthouse itself or just the effect of the ice.

A few weeks ago I blogged about “A Three Hour Tour,……” in which I got some photos of the harbor and lighthouse area from a boat.  I captured this shot of the Cleveland Harbor Lighthouse bathed in the warm light of a beautiful sunset.

Cleveland Harbor West Breakwall Lighthouse at sunset

Getting lots of shots and angles on it, I noticed that it is indeed leaning!  It appears that crews are currently working on it, hopefully to shore it up and prevent it from eventually falling into Lake Erie!

One of my other favorite lighthouses is back in my home state of New Jersey.

Barnegat Lighthouse

Barnegat Lighthouse, known as “Old Barney” was commissioned in 1859 and marks the dangerous shoals of Barnegat Inlet at the northern end of New Jersey’s Long Beach Island.  I visit it often on trips back to New Jersey and love it’s classic and colorful appearance.  Just one of many in my collection, but definitely one of my favorite sentinels!

 

About Kolman Rosenberg

My interest in photography began as a college newspaper and yearbook photographer during the stormy 1960s and 1970s. I was influenced by many of the great photojournalists and documentary photographers such as W. Eugene Smith, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Gordon Parks, Margaret Bourke-White and other black and white photographers of Life Magazine and the earlier Farm Security Administration. Though many of these photographers documented the horrors of war and the plight of poverty, they also showed me the dignity and adaptability of human beings in their desire to prevail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

