Rust and Restoration

Rusting Boxcar Detail

Rusting Boxcar Detail

Yesterday I finally made it to an open house of the Midwest Railway Preservation Society (MRSP) in Cleveland’s Flats.  I’ve driven by the old historic roundhouse many times and wished I could get inside!  It was well worth the wait and it won’t be my last visit!  This society is dedicated to preserving Cleveland’s rich railroading history.  You would barely notice the place if you drove by, aside from a colorful caboose sitting in front of the roundhouse, but inside and out, behind the roundhouse and the surrounding brush is a treasure trove of railroad equipment from the past 100 years at least!  Most in pretty poor condition but some already restored and in various stages of restoration.

Steel Wheels

Steel Wheels

One of the highlights is the repair and restoration of the Steam Locomotive 4070, built in 1918.  This engine, last used to pull the cars of the Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad, which runs thru the Cuyahoga Valley National Park from Cleveland to Akron, is massive! It is inside of the roundhouse and is actively being repaired and restored.  Being inside, it was hard to capture in a single image, but here is my best effort!

Steam Locomotive 4070

Steam Locomotive 4070

As I’ve stated before on this blog, one of my favorite types of photographic subjects is machinery and small detailed objects of many sorts.  This facility is one where I can spend hours with my camera and lenses!  I’ll be back!

One last image for my friend’s cat “Chessie”

For Chessie

For Chessie

 

About Kolman Rosenberg

My interest in photography began as a college newspaper and yearbook photographer during the stormy 1960s and 1970s. I was influenced by many of the great photojournalists and documentary photographers such as W. Eugene Smith, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Gordon Parks, Margaret Bourke-White and other black and white photographers of Life Magazine and the earlier Farm Security Administration. Though many of these photographers documented the horrors of war and the plight of poverty, they also showed me the dignity and adaptability of human beings in their desire to prevail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rust and Restoration

  1. Patricia, Wellington Ohio says:

    Very fascinating photographic opportunity. Thank you for sharing and I hope you will do more there. These are all wonderful photographs. Please know that you efforts in putting them on this blog for us to enjoy is much appreciated.

  2. Especially love the Engine 4070. Awesome!

  3. donfoto says:

    Nice images Kolman! I think you need to take me with you next time.

Leave a Reply

