A Moment in Missoula

I’m catching up this week after traveling to Missoula, MT last week for a workshop on Documentary Photography.  The workshop, at the Rocky Mountain School of Photography was just incredible.  The instructor was renowned photographer Ed Kashi, who shoots for National Geographic and other clients and who has covered stories as diverse as “Aging in America” and the lasting effects of Agent Orange in Vietnam.  Visit Ed’s website   www.edkashi.com  to view some of his work.  It’s very moving stuff!

During the workshop we did some small documentary projects each day.  The last project was to capture “moments” in Missoula.  After shooting at a minor league baseball game, I was wandering about downtown, shooting patrons in a bar, thru the front window.  Suddenly I heard a voice from above yelling, “what are you shooting?”  I looked up to find a strange looking character, hanging out a second story window above me.

A moment in Missoula.

He had a nose ring, earrings, and a spiked-gloved hand.  I told him I was shooting moments in Missoula and asked if I could shoot his photo.  He gladly agreed and struck this pose.  He said he usually wore dark black eye liner and had tears painted on his face as well!  I asked if he was an entertainer but he said no, he just liked this look.  After I took his photo and planned to move on, he asked me if I had any “weed.”  It was a very funny moment for me in Missoula!

This photo was quickly shot at ISO 3200, so it is rather noisy as digital photos go.  But as I’ve said before, don’t be afraid of the high ISO’s.  It was beginning to get dark and he was looking down from any light, so it was a matter of using a high ISO or not getting this picture at all.  I’ll always go with the high ISO!

About Kolman Rosenberg

My interest in photography began as a college newspaper and yearbook photographer during the stormy 1960s and 1970s. I was influenced by many of the great photojournalists and documentary photographers such as W. Eugene Smith, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Gordon Parks, Margaret Bourke-White and other black and white photographers of Life Magazine and the earlier Farm Security Administration. Though many of these photographers documented the horrors of war and the plight of poverty, they also showed me the dignity and adaptability of human beings in their desire to prevail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Moment in Missoula

  1. 1222cc says:

    What’s so funny? That a bro recognizes a bro?

    Like

  2. Just struck me as funny. We couldn’t be more different!

    Like

Leave a Reply

