Digital Details

Unloading stone in Fairport Harbor.

While editing and looking at my digital photos, sometimes I’m just blown away by the detail that the camera is capable of capturing.  In this photo of stone being unloaded by conveyer belt from an ore carrier in Fairport Harbor, OH, I noticed the stone dust, down to very small particles, falling from the end of the conveyer belt.  There are also small stones bouncing off the top of the stone pile.  I was probably 40 yards from the top of the pile and the end of the conveyer belt, so it kind of surprised me to see this amount of detail.  The clear blue sky probably helped to emphasize these small details.

Another example came from a high school baseball game.  I was shooting photos of the pitcher from windup to follow-through and when I zoomed in on my computer screen I was astonished to see the detail that was captured of the ball itself.

Mid pitch baseball detail.

In this case I was shooting from the bleachers about 15 yards from 1st base and although there is some slight motion blur, I can clearly read the word “Diamond” on the baseball.

I wish my eyes worked as well as my camera and lenses!

About Kolman Rosenberg

My interest in photography began as a college newspaper and yearbook photographer during the stormy 1960s and 1970s. I was influenced by many of the great photojournalists and documentary photographers such as W. Eugene Smith, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Gordon Parks, Margaret Bourke-White and other black and white photographers of Life Magazine and the earlier Farm Security Administration. Though many of these photographers documented the horrors of war and the plight of poverty, they also showed me the dignity and adaptability of human beings in their desire to prevail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Digital Details

  1. 1222cc says:

    (smile)
    Carole

    Like

  2. I’ll second your last sentence (and some of that is definitely attributable to our similar ages). I’m often impressed by the detail I see on my computer monitor after the fact. I do mostly nature photography, and it’s common for me to look at the computer screen and discover some tiny insect or spider that I hadn’t realized was there when I took the picture. One example:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/sun-on-a-cloudy-day/

    On the other hand, I do sometimes still notice something dramatic and make it the focus (in both senses) of my picture. An example of that:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/08/07/living-amber-exacts-its-deadly-toll/

    Sometimes I wish all the current technology had been available when I started in photography in the late ’60s, but I’m still glad to have those advantages now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

