Signs Say

Studebaker Sign

I spent a week last September at a workshop in Missoula, MT and every free moment I had was spent walking around about 16 square blocks photographing anything and everything of interest!  This sign on the side of a building which had once been a stable, Chevrolet Dealership and Studebaker Dealership jumped out at me with its graphic nature as well as the interesting shadows from the lights.  I have a fondness for Studebakers as my childhood neighbor drove one that looked just like the one on this sign!

The Missoula Club Sign

Neon signs often capture my attention too.  This sign drew me to a great hamburger and beer one evening and made for a nice image as well!

Signs are made to capture your attention and they often capture mine.  They can be interesting, graphic, and colorful subjects.  These are just 2 of the many that I photographed in Missoula.

About Kolman Rosenberg

My interest in photography began as a college newspaper and yearbook photographer during the stormy 1960s and 1970s. I was influenced by many of the great photojournalists and documentary photographers such as W. Eugene Smith, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Gordon Parks, Margaret Bourke-White and other black and white photographers of Life Magazine and the earlier Farm Security Administration. Though many of these photographers documented the horrors of war and the plight of poverty, they also showed me the dignity and adaptability of human beings in their desire to prevail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Signs Say

  1. Love the shadows on the first shot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

