Photography to Digital Art

Digital Art #1

Digital Art #1

I’ve taken a creative turn over the past few years and while doing so have asked myself the question, am I still a photographer?  Well the answer I’ve come up with is YES, I am still a photographer.  My output however, which starts out as a photograph, could perhaps be best described though as “digital art”.  It still takes my eye as a photographer to see the subject, compose it, expose it, and capture it.  Then the creative side kicks into full gear and with digital tools I enhance the photo into something beyond a photograph. I am happy with this transition.  I can still capture an interesting “straight” image and at times that’s what I want or need, but at other times now I want to show more creativity.

These 2 images were captured on a rainy October morning with my photo friends Debra Rozin and Barbara Pennington, on Barb’s back deck.  Debra and Barb were concentrating on the flowers and I was playing with the concept of combining soft flowers with hard steel gears.  We all eventually worked the gears and some interesting glassware into our images as well.

Digiatal Art #2

Digital Art #2

I’d like to hear your feedback on this topic.  Are they photos or are they something else?

About Kolman Rosenberg

My interest in photography began as a college newspaper and yearbook photographer during the stormy 1960s and 1970s. I was influenced by many of the great photojournalists and documentary photographers such as W. Eugene Smith, Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Gordon Parks, Margaret Bourke-White and other black and white photographers of Life Magazine and the earlier Farm Security Administration. Though many of these photographers documented the horrors of war and the plight of poverty, they also showed me the dignity and adaptability of human beings in their desire to prevail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photography to Digital Art

  1. @shane says:

    The photos look really interesting. Sometimes they look real. It kind of feels like a mix of another type of art.

    Like

  2. zelleyba says:

    “Yes” and “yes”. “And” and “both”. While I am neither a photographer nor an artist, I love to take pictures. Sometimes I take pictures to document a special event or capture a particular place, But on rare occasion I capture a composition that to my eye is more art than reality. As you have shown in posting some of your pieces, one can create interesting, imaginative and inspiring compositions with black-and-white, traditional photography, and with digital tools. Each speaks to the creative process in its own unique voice. No need to choose.
    Thanks for all your posts!
    Hope you and yours have a very happy holiday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

